Ichiba 0 2018/2/21 1:18
Dpinga

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 »

The topic of resistance
Honorary Villager
Group:
村民 :: Villager
I am a beginner to the art, but enjoy it a lot. Sometimes I wonder though, how much resistance should I use. I understand that the concept is supposed to be sort of giving your body to the tori, but how much is too much? I see some people come in to the dojo and they expect you to fall from a 1 or 2 on the 1-10 pain scale. Or they will do a technique poorly, and when I dont fall they get rigid with technique, which kinda hurts for their uke. Also If it is someone just entering in to the art, they may have trouble against resistance, and when you ease up on the resistance so they can figure it out, that sometimes leads people to think the training is not effective before they really get the chance to experience it.

Should I just ask for their preference, or is there an area in the range of resistance that is more in line with the essense of ninjutsu?

Posted on: 2009/12/12 5:31

Re: The topic of resistance
Active Kutakian
From SLC,Ut
Group:
im only a gokyu so dont take my opinion as gospel. i personally think the more resistance the better (effective) because thats what your going to deal with in a real confrontation. i find alot of people start with plenty of resistance but, depending on grade i suppose, sometimes you start out at half speed as compared to full speed. of course too much resistance can sometimes backfire and injure the uke. asking never hurts right?

i think this is directly related with the thread on here called " the unspoken contract" from Mr Martin (Papa-San)... i would read that as well

Posted on: 2009/12/12 7:17

Kutaki Postmaster
From Colorado
Group:
You learn through repetition and practice. First learn the technique. Then learn how to use the technique in the face of resistance. Then learn how to distract to overcome resiistance. For example a quick strike that distracts the uke.