Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 4 »

A Question from an Outsider
Villager
From Los Angeles
Group:
村民 :: Villager
Hi all!

I'm a student of wushu here in the States and wanted to throw a few questions out there.

1.) Do you guys associate with people who practice other styles of martial arts?

2.) Do you feel that some styles are better than other?

3.) Do you keep up with "current events" in the world of martial arts?

Mainly curious about how practitioners of ninjutsu see themselves in relation to other styles of martial arts.

Posted on: 2004/8/14 4:27

-Mencius
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: A Question from an Outsider
Active Kutakian
From Finland
Group:
We're individuals. Some people do, some people don't.

Posted on: 2004/8/14 6:26

Permanent Village Fixture
From Toronto/Waterloo, Canada Eh!
Group:
Hey,
Your probably gonna want to give us some more info about yourself before you get any decent answers.

This kind of thing is often a touchy topic ... and so its tricky to answer such questions without knowing where the person is coming from and what their intentions are, etc.

do that and I'm sure you'll get a decent response or 2...

otherwise I'll have to question whether you'll be telling ppl that "Joe blow is a pink belt in ninjutsu and he says that ..."

Other than that ... Welcome to Kutaki

Posted on: 2004/8/14 6:29

Villager
From Los Angeles
Group:
First off, thanks for welcoming me.

I'm a graduate student in Classical Japanese Literature. I'm at UC Irvine, the best school in the US for Critical Theory. We have some world reknown philosopher (e.g. Jacques Derrida, Wolfgang Iser, etc.) teaching in the same building as my department. And having taken classes in Critical Theory, I've been applying philosophy to martial arts (mainly because there's a real absence of that in the academic world).