Recent Topics

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 4 ... 17 »

Mixing Bujinkan with Other Arts/Serious Training
Active Kutakian
From Atlanta, United States
Group:
村民 :: Villager
I decided to start a new thread on this topic, rather than hijacking "Bujinkan reputation." I hope nobody will mind this, considering all of the new threads now.

Ulysses Beato wrote:

Quote:
Paul W wrote: I don't advocate mixing other arts with this one, like some do with Gracie jujitsu...

Ulysses wrote:
Paul, with all due respect as I don't know your background in the Bujinkan but, why not ? IMO training in other arts that won't teach you bad habits is certainly beneficial. When our dojo started around seven years ago, we shared a space with Renzo Gracie himself.

My background is below, but first I will address the issue of mixing this art with others.

IMHO: if you have to combine Budo Taijutsu with something else to make it 'work' then a) you don't know Taijutsu that well and b) you should spend more time learning it.

From my experience, everything that one needs, as to martial arts, is in Bujinkan. Sounds like a cliche, but that is the truth. Instead, many persons, particularly Americans, seek a quick fix, the simple solution and the newest fad, based upon their own assumptions. Gracie jujitsu is such a fad. Before, it was Thai boxing, "ninja", kung fu, JKD, etc. Tomorrow, it will probably be Polynesian wrestling, or something equally exotic and impressive-sounding.