Wedding gift... can someone help me to translate it? 6 2018/6/30 20:50
Barga18
Aomori-Ken 0 2018/6/19 10:27
hanzo-tou
Certificates 0 2018/5/8 4:34
schistkicker

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Would Aikido be compatible with Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu?
Frequent Visitor
From California
Group:
村民 :: Villager
Hello all. This is my first time posting on Kutaki. I've been training in the Bujinkan for a little over a year now. In about three weeks I will be moving to Cali around the San Fransisco area to go to school. I may have to take a phys ed. course as a requirement. The school teaches Aikido and Aikido with a weapon (iaido maybe?). I was just curious if anybody had an opinion on the compatibility of Aikido and Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu? I really don't know enough about either art to have much of an informed opinion, but it seems to me that some of the principles are the same. Such as using balance, momentum, body movement, timing, and distance. I appreciate any input on this.

-JB

Posted on: 2007/12/10 12:12

"We must not expect happiness, It is not something we deserve. When life goes well, it is a sudden gift; it cannot last forever... "
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Would Aikido be compatible with Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu?
Cant Stay Offline
From Pennsylvania, USA
Group:
議長 :: Mod
師導士会 :: Shidoshikai
Aikido is a very interesting art but the beginning levels are taught with very large movements (very much like our very early instruction) and it takes a long time before they get to the smaller movements of our taijutsu. You would probably do very well as if you've worked with the Bujinkan you should already be "shrinking" you movements and making them more difficult to counter.

Posted on: 2007/12/10 13:37

Village Old Timer
From San Francisco, California, USA
Group: