Dpinga

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 4 ... 6 »

Swordwork
Occasional Visitor
From Sydney, Australia
Group:
村民 :: Villager
Recently, I have had a forced change in methodology for swordwork. (I lost my training swords including fukuro shinai T_T)

Before I started training me and friends would just wail on each other with shinai. When I started training we gradually moved towards bokken. They were easier to get, our instructor used them and it was funnier when people got hit. Newer students would get a bokken and a shinai but mostly a boken would be used.

Over the past year or two (or three...) fukuro have been easier to get in our dojo, shihan use them at seminars and so they have become the norm. I succumbed to the sexy new weapon and used them a majority of the time. New students now get a shinai until they decide it is worth the investment for fukuro.

Now that I have no fukuro, I'm changing back to using bokken and I am noticing a difference between the students that learnt using fukuro and my self and I'm wondering about other practitioners thoughts on training weapons? Do people recommend students begin with one kind or the other? Does anyone have a strong preference? What are peoples thoughts on padded weapons in general?

My thoughts are that people should learn with bokken. They have a better feel, allow you to see with what part of the sword you are using, makes you more edge aware and instills a bit more 'danger' into swordwork.

I have been thinking about it for a while and welcome other peoples views.
Cheers

Posted on: 2009/1/3 9:07

Sydney, Australia
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Swordwork
Cant Stay Offline
From Pennsylvania, USA
Group:
議長 :: Mod
師導士会 :: Shidoshikai