Dpinga

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Ninpo training?
Frequent Visitor
Group:
村民 :: Villager
Hi all, new here.

I'm new to training in Bujinkan though I've done a fair amount of research and I'm always studying materials I find.

I have a question about ninpo training in Bujinkan (Pardon my probable mis-use of names and terms here..)

But it seems there is a fair amount of information and people talking about the fighting techniques but how about the water combat techniques, walking techniques, weapons crafting, tactics, entry-techniques, scouting, night combat, survival training, and so on?

Are these things taught once you have enough experience overall? Has it been more or less dropped from active teachings?

Maybe it's just me, but looking around there seems to be a lot of ninpo teachings that aren't, well, taught.

How many of you who are black belts and above have been taught these things?

Posted on: 2012/11/10 6:15
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Ninpo training?
村長 :: Sonchou
From Chiba, Japan
Group:
村長 :: Admin
Hi,

In training in the Bujinkan for 16 years in Japan, I have never once seen or heard of anything like this being taught as part of the Bujinkan curriculum. When I asked Japanese Shihan in Japan about these questions, I was told that the techniques for such things in the Bujinkan are part of the traditional scrolls handed down from centuries ago, and that since warfare has changed a lot between those times and the modern era, we are better to go join the military, police force, or get some kind of paramilitary training if we really want to learn the modern application of these things. For example, the sciences of pharmacology, toxicology, pyrotechnics, etc. have all evolved tremendously since the period when such things were actively used by the ninja in Japan. It's better to go study modern toxicology than to think you can learn about poisons from a scroll from the 1600's, for example.