Ichiba 0 2018/2/21 1:18
Dpinga

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

A question about questions
Just Passing Through
Group:
村民 :: Villager
Hi there,
I'm new to the village and would like to start out with a question. I'm not sure if it would better fit into the "Life in Japan" category.

What do you think about asking questions in the dojo?

In our European school, university, work, etc. environment it is highly encouraged to ask questions, but I was told, that in Japan, it is not.

Now I found two quotes about this topic.
The first one was from Nagato sensei, but I can't find it at the moment (maybe someone can help me out, here?) and basically said: Don't ask questions. If you have to ask you are not ready yet. And once you're ready you don't have to ask anymoe (written down from memory, but should be the main point).

The second one was published by Arnaud in his blog (on May 1, 2013):
"[...]hoping that Sensei will come to them to correct their movements. If you want to be good and to improve? Be brave and ask Sensei politely. Worst case scenario: sensei will not give you an answer.

When you go to Japan to meet your teacher, ask everything you need to know because once you are gone no one will give the answer you need."

So what is your take on this subject? Is there a "wrong" and "right"?

Personally when I train at home I ask all the questions I have, but when I was in Japan I sticked to what I considered was the "Japanese way" (so: not asking questions). I think my amount of questions at home will also decline since that experience.

Cheers :)

Posted on: 2013/5/24 18:40
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: A question about questions
Village Old Timer
From Dayton, Ohio
Group:
There are two standards.