Dpinga

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

To Ryu or not to Ryu
Village Old Timer
From Dayton, Ohio
Group:
村民 :: Villager
I train with Jeff Ochester here at the Dayton Bujinkan Dojo. He has a great sense of teaching the Kata with a good historical sense but at the same time allowing us to concentrate on the essential movements and not get hung up on a history lesson.

We have discussed the value of studying and learning the specifics of each Ryu and lessons learned from the Kata. We have also talked about the dangers of becoming a Kata collector or the stagnant effect of getting hung up on the specifics of Kata "purists".

Both Jeff and I started training under a teacher who was very closed mouth about the specifics of each school. The trainig was still excellent and we learned the basics very well.

My question to the Kutaki community is this, What value do you place on the specific ryu ha and when in your teaching or your own training should you make the effort - if at all - to learn each schools kata and history.

Thank you for your input.

Marty

Posted on: 2005/11/25 3:43
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: To Ryu or not to Ryu
Honorary Villager
From St Louis,Missouri USA
Group:
Always make the effort! Understand the Ryu that you are studying. Then as soon as you "understand" the ryu-ha kata, forget it. You're body will "feel" the difference.

Posted on: 2005/11/25 10:38

Gateway Bujinkan

Cant Stay Offline
From Hamina, Finland
Group:
議長 :: Mod
師導士会 :: Shidoshikai
My view on this... hmm... how to put it...

If you take a tech/form from one school and do it without the methodology of the said school it might not produce the result you are looking for in the way it was meant to.