Recent Topics

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

My thoughts to help beginners
Honorary Villager
From NSW Australia
Group:
村民 :: Villager
Since my method of training involves making all of the mistakes and then taking days to months fixing them, I'm going to offer my advice to new to mid ranking kyu grade students.

Of course, the quality of kyu ranking students varies but I'm sure this advice will be useful to those whom know they need it. My approach is to the complete newbie, although I expect (and hope) that these principles are touched upon in your classes.

1. Use your WHOLE BODY for ALL of your movements. Behind an effective punch is not the arm muscles, but the entire weight of your body.

When you throw someone, you don't just yank on their arm and hope for the best. Rotate your whole body, if throwing over your shoulder get right into their space, stick your butt out and fling them over the top.

A good example is the oni-kudaki. Once you have 'engaged' the hand position, you can't just rotate the arm around and hope for the best. Drop your weight to bring the arm down, then bring your weight back up again to apply the rotation. Drop your weight again as you continue the rotation with your uke's elbow coming above his shoulder.

You should not at ANY point be wrestling or muscling your opponent. If what you're doing isn't effective, then change it, or soften the opponent with a strike to manipulate their body into a position which will allow you to move correctly.

2. Consider your elements and move through them where necessary. You don't have to lock into one element per technique. Your elements should adapt just like your posture adapts to the situation. You may start out working with wind, but need to change it to fire in order to be effective.